1. We are a community of readers. Join us!

    Readup is a social reading platform. No ads. No distractions. No liking or upvotes. We help you pay attention to what matters: reading.

    Harvard Business Review9/1/195 min
    19 reads7 comments
    9.4
    Harvard Business Review
    19 reads
    9.4
    You must read the article before you can post or reply.
    • bill
      Top reader of all timeScoutScribe
      1 year ago

      Marina Abramović is a funky cameo in this article. I went to see her with @jeff and @turtlebubble forever ago, at the Guggenheim. She was naked, bloody, and whipping herself right in front of us. It was powerful, to say the least.

      I need to read this Jenny Odell book! I’ve tried at four libraries now, can’t find it anywhere. Jia reviewed it too.

      I love the idea of tech Shabbats. Sign me up.

      Articles like this that don’t include Thoreau/Walden feel like they forgot something.

      (h/t CHT on Twitter)

      • loundytampa1 year ago

        I feel like Tech Shabbats could become a trend ... i just couldn’t even imagine what day I would chose- weekday? Weekend? So many pro and cons to each.

        • bill
          Top reader of all timeScoutScribe
          1 year ago

          Very true. And if you and a friend pick different days, you’ll end up out of touch for two full days (god forbid?!)

          But yeah, for most people, a weekday would be out of the question. To be honest though, I think anybody could pick a day and make it happen. It would just require some planning and communication.

          This is also where religion comes in handy. I used to teach a Friday night yoga class near an orthodox Jewish neighborhood in Brooklyn. Riding my bike through at sunset was always fun because there was so much hustle and bustle before “lights off” at sunset - until Sunday morning. The kids were playing in the street and the parents we’re running last minute errands and I always remember thinking: How awesome... Now everybody is going to get a nice full day together - no work, no tech, no nothing. Just family, friends.. and food! And when the sun finally goes down and all the shops are close, but folks are still lingering in the streets, you can almost feel the collective exhale.

          • bill
            Top reader of all timeScoutScribe
            1 year ago

            *were

            • loundytampa1 year ago

              First off - I could never get a friend to do this with me ... ever Second - it would have to be mid week- and this would require lots of driving and checking into my businesses... Sunday is the obvious choice but how the hell am I gonna follow football ? An AM RADIO? and how would I place my bets ? Call the bookie ?!?

              • bill
                Top reader of all timeScoutScribe
                1 year ago

                Here’s a bet for you (no bookie required.) Post this on Facebook or Insta: “I’m thinking about taking 1 day per week without my phone or internet, just for a few weeks. Anybody wanna join me?” 10 bucks says you actually DO have some friends who would do this with you.

                Monday or Tuesday would prob have to be your day. I’m seriously considering Wednesday.

    • Pegeen
      ScoutScribe
      1 year ago

      When I read articles like this I have two very distinct feelings. One is that I’m EXTREMELY grateful that I grew up without technology and have a healthy relationship with it. Second, that there is such a crisis emerging of individuals addicted to screens. Perhaps ignorance is bliss but I know what they are missing. As Odell points out, “...we’re likely to end up losing who we really are.” I can’t imagine anything worse.