1. We are a community of readers. Join us!

    Readup is a social reading platform. No ads. No distractions. No liking or upvotes. We help you pay attention to what matters: reading.

    Tricycle: The Buddhist ReviewZenju Earthlyn Manuel3/13/215 min
    17 reads9 comments
    9.6
    Tricycle: The Buddhist Review
    17 reads
    9.6
    You must read the article before you can post or reply.
    • thorgalle
      Top reader this weekScoutScribe
      3 months ago

      Unpopular opinion: this wasn’t really my cup of tea. Why single out tea as a spiritual ceremony when so many other things come from the earth just the same? 🤷‍♂️

    • DellwoodBarker
      Top reader this weekReading streakScribe
      4 months ago

      Wow. This is easily a 10. So simple, short yet profound in poetic, sensory-enriching brevity.

      This excerpt is exceptional:

      All is going well. There is peace in being led to tea. The tea master passes the container with the powder of matcha tea inside. A mountain made with the tea powder is revealed. It clings to the side of the container. There’s a cliff and homes hanging off it. At the same time, it’s simply powdered tea.

      I immediately wanted to brew some twig or gunpowder green tea upon completion. Sadly I am out.

      I need to restock on tea and return for a second enriching read. By then, perhaps this will have reached AOTD which it definitely zentastically deserves.

      • Karenz
        Scribe
        3 months ago

        A much needed poetic pause. Lovely.

    • Raven4 months ago

      If we don’t question what is offered there is peace.

      Quite the observation here! I’m running as many scenarios as I can through this modality as I can and I’m thinking ......the observer needs to have discernment and not judgment about what constitutes an offer

      Definitely helps me to remember pathways once travelled and how fulfilling they are. I really need a simple practice to guide me home.

      Thank you Language

    • TripleG
      Top reader this weekReading streakScout
      4 months ago

      Such a mindful and peaceful ritual to savor a cupful of the earth.

    • kellyalysia4 months ago

      I loved this. So many rituals can become sacred or spiritual if we do them with love and reverence.

      • DellwoodBarker
        Top reader this weekReading streakScribe
        4 months ago

        A Precious Gift of a read! Arigato 💓