1. We are a community of readers. Join us!

    Readup is a social reading platform. No ads. No distractions. No liking or upvotes. We help you pay attention to what matters: reading.

    Mark Manson5/21/1515 min
    1 read1 comment
    Mark Manson
    1 read
    You must read the article before you can post or reply.
    • Ruchita_Ganurkar
      3 months ago

      I 100% Loved reading this article. An author embellished the four stages of life & their purposes. Reading this article would help to realize which stage you're in whether stacked or not. It'll help you to refresh memories of that transition moment from which you changed life's stage, where you felt you're enough mature, where you thought you've gained the process to analyze things, people & situations.

      Trauma causes us to step back and re-evaluate our deepest motivations and decisions. It allows us to reflect on whether our strategies to pursue happiness are actually working well or not.

      Stage One-You will never be enough for everybody all the time, and therefore you must make decisions for yourself. The constant search for approval and validation. The absence of independent thought and personal values.

      Stage Two-You will never be capable of accomplishing everything you can dream and desire. Process of self-discovery. Learning what makes us different from the people and culture around us.

      Stage Three-You must realize that time and energy are limited. Building your legacy & maximizing your own potential in this life. Leaving the world a little bit different than the way you found it.

      Stage Four-You must realize that change is inevitable. Making sure that legacy lasts beyond one’s death.

      People at Stage One will judge others by their ability to achieve social approval. People at Stage Two will judge others by their ability to push their own boundaries and try new things. People at Stage Three will judge others based on their commitments and what they’re able to achieve. People at Stage Four judge others based on what they stand for and what they’ve chosen to live for.